1hive TV - Crypto beginner courses

Hey all,

Below is a bit of a course I have come up with for the 1hive TV that I mentioned in the discord. Everything is open to discussion, I just figured I would try to make it really simple and to the point to get complete newbies into the decentralised crypto world with zero risk. I’d love for us to fund a simple faucet for some xdai and hny. Honestly, I think provided it is relatively difficult to exploit and less than a few dollars then it is going to be money well spent. Imagine spending $10,000 for 10,000 new users to the space.

Feedback and suggestions welcome.

Course 1 - Introduction to using cryptocurrency

1 – Install Metamask

2 – Create a wallet and store the seed phrase safely

3 – Test that we can restore it

4 – Add Gnosis chain

5 – Claim funds from the faucets

Rough Transcript

Welcome to 1hive TV, I’m your host TJ Wells.

Today we are going to be showing you how to create a blockchain wallet and fund it. It is a short course that doesn’t require you to spend any of your own money. At the end of this video, you will have your very own crypto wallet, some funds and a special, one of a kind NFT!

The first step we are going to take is installing a metamask. This is one of the most common wallet apps available and is recognised as one of the safest and easiest to use. Go to metamask.io and click the download link. Follow the instructions to install it (show on screen each dialogue box for a few seconds).

The second step will be to create a wallet. Opt in or out of the usage data, then create your password. Ensure you make your password secure, using capital letters, numbers and special symbols.

The next part of the wallet setup is fairly well explained in the metamask app, so follow along and come back when you are done. I can’t emphasise how important it is to write your seed phrase down clearly and keep in a safe place offline.

Congratulations, you just created your first crypto wallet!